Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Interview with Anna Del Mar, author of The Asset



 

Inside the Book:



Title: The Asset 
Author: Anna Del Mar 
Release Date: February 22, 2016 
Publisher: Carina Press 
Genre: Mystery/Suspense 
Format: Ebook

Anna del Mar's explosive, sexy debut novel in the Wounded Warrior series, perfect for fans of Lisa Marie Rice and Lora Leigh—the story of a woman desperate to escape her dangerous past and the navy SEAL who would lay down his life to save her

Ash Hunter knows what it is to run. A SEAL gravely injured in Afghanistan, he's gone AWOL from the military hospital. Physically and mentally scarred, he returns home to his grandmother's isolated cottage—and finds a beautiful, haunted stranger inside.

Like recognizes like.

Lia Stewart's in hiding from the cartel she barely escaped alive, holed up in this small Rocky Mountain town. Surviving, but only just. Helping the wounded warrior on her doorstep is the right thing to do…it's loving him that might get them both killed.

 Soon, Ash realizes he's not the only one tormented by the past. Pushing the limits of his broken body, testing the boundaries of her shattered soul, he'll protect Lia until his last breath.

   photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpgB&N


When did you realize you wanted to be a writer? 

Early on, when I was a little kid, working through my first reader.

How long did it take you to write The Asset? 

I had a first draft in about two months. It probably took another month to flesh it out from there. After that, it was a lot of editing. What is The Asset about? The Asset is a hot, gritty contemporary romantic suspense about a woman fleeing from her sinister past, who must defy her fears and risk her life to care for a wounded warrior, a SEAL who will protect her until his last breath.

The story begins with Lia Stuart. She's on the run, hiding in a small Rocky Mountain town, surviving, but only barely. Her luck might be over when a stranger shows up at her door. Staring down the barrel of her shotgun, her finger twitches on the trigger. No way. She's not going back. She won't be taken alive.

The stranger at her door is Ash Hunter. He’s also on the run, from his superiors, but worse, from his uncertain future. A SEAL wounded in Afghanistan, he bolts from an extended stay at the hospital, without permission. Along with his trained service dog, Ash is drawn to the isolated lakeside cottage where he confronts Lia's shotgun and the limits of his broken body.

When Ash collapses in her kitchen, Lia defies her fears and risks her life to care for the wounded warrior who has disrupted her carefully orchestrated farce of a life. But Ash soon realizes that he's not the only one suffering from PTSD. He teaches Lia that fleeing doesn't lead to freedom and caring is a mutual endeavour.

Together, Ash and Lia must defeat the ruthless evil that threatens to destroy their lives as they struggle to heal, not only Ash's broken body but Lia's shattered soul.

What is your work schedule like when you are writing? 

My day begins somewhere mid-morning with lots of coffee, late morning sun salutations and then, I hit the desk. I tackle the business of writing first, then email, social media and the rest. Those activities take me to lunch. In the afternoon, it’s editing time. Most of my creative writing happens late at night. I sit down after dinner and write until the wee hours of the morning. It’s a bit of a juggling act. I’m usually editing a couple of novels, shopping an edited manuscript, and researching and writing a new book.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk? 

Every new story is titled “Chapter One.” I’ve got a lot of those in my files! Where do you get your information or ideas for your books? From the world. Writing comes from living and the writer’s mind is like a strainer. Life goes through it in buckets and those little morsels that get stuck between the wires—experiences, observations, inspirations—they become ideas that birth novels.

When did you write your first book and how old were you? 

My mother tells me I was seven. Apparently, it was about a girl and her horse. Yeah, I know, not very original but I’m told it was quite detailed and vivid.

What do you like to do when you're not writing? 

I love to travel. I walk, swim, hike, kayak, ski (barely) and, of course, I read a lot.

Meet the Author:

Anna del Mar writes hot, smart romances that soothe the soul, challenge the mind, and satisfy the heart. Her stories focus on strong heroines struggling to find their place in the world and the brave, sexy, kickass, military heroes who defy the limits of their broken bodies to protect the women they love. She is the author of The Asset (Carina Press), the first novel of her Wounded Warrior series and three other novels scheduled for release during 2016.

A Georgetown University graduate, Anna enjoys traveling, hiking, skiing, and the sea. Writing is her addiction, her drug of choice, and what she wants to do all the time. The extraordinary men and women she met during her years as a Navy wife inspire the fabulous heroes and heroines at the center of her stories. When she stays put—which doesn’t happen very often—she lives in Florida with her indulgent husband and two very opinionated cats.

Twitter
facebook (2)
 

———————

Tour Schedule

Tuesday, June 7 - Interviewed at Harmonious Publicity
Friday, June 10 - Book featured at Bound 2 Escape
________
Tuesday, June 14 - Guest blogging at Write and Take Flight
Thursday, June 16 - Book featured at Mello and June
Friday, June 17 - Book featured at The Bookworm Lodge
________
Monday, June 20 - Book reviewed at Our Families Adventure
Tuesday, June 21 - Interviewed at Infinite House of Books
Wednesday, June 22 - Guest blogging at Celebrate with a Book
Thursday, June 23 - Book featured at Authors and Readers Book Corner
Friday, June 24 - Interviewed at PUYB Virtual Book Club
________
Tuesday, June 28 - Interviewed at Deal Sharing Aunt
Thursday, June 30 - Guest blogging at Bookjunkie's Book Blog
________

No comments:

Post a Comment